Tue, 05 Dec 2023

The Department of Health has announced the appointment of eight Non-Executive Members to the Northern Ireland Practice and Education Council for Nursing & Midwifery (NIPEC).

The appointments of Dr Katrin Lehmann, Registrant Member; Dr Gary Mitchell, Registrant Member; Ms Sharon McRoberts, Registrant Member; Dr Nirmala Bhogal, Lay Member; and Mrs Ciara Scannell, Lay Member commenced on 1 February 2023 and will end on a date not later than 31 January 2027.  The appointments of Ms Eilidh McGregor, Registrant Member; Dr Janine Stockdale, Registrant Member; and Mx Amit Bhagwat, Lay Member commenced on 13 February 2023 and will end on a date not later than 12 February 2027.

The Non-Executive Member positions are not remunerated and require a time commitment of 20 days per year.

These appointments are made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland.

NIPEC supports the development of nurses and midwives by promoting high standards of practice, education and professional development as well as providing advice and guidance on best practice and matters relating to nursing and midwifery. The NIPEC Council comprises a Non-Executive Chair, a Chief Executive and not more than 14 Non-Executive Members appointed by the Department (60% registered nurses/midwives and 40% not registered).

More Northern Ireland News

Access More

Sign up for Northern Ireland News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!