Thu, 02 Feb 2023

The appointment of six independent members to the Policing Board - Long

Northern Ireland Executive
27 Oct 2022, 21 GMT+10

The Justice Minister Naomi Long has announced the appointment of six independent members to the Northern Ireland Policing Board

The appointment of three members will be effective from 1 December 2022 and three from 1 April 2023.

Naomi Long said: "I am pleased to announce six independent members, of the Northern Ireland Policing Board.  I am confident that the members will bring a wide range of skills and experience to an already strong Board.  The Policing Board is one of Northern Ireland's most important public bodies and it is vital that we have an effective and efficient Board that holds the Police Service of Northern Ireland to account. 

"I would like pay tribute to three members whose terms conclude on 30 November 2022, including the Chair, Vice Chair and Chair of the Audit and Risk Assurance Committee, for the valuable contribution they have made to policing in Northern Ireland and their time, hard work and dedication to the work of the Policing Board."

Following a Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland regulated public appointment competition for independent members, Justice Minister Naomi Long appointed the following independent Board members:

With effect from 1 December 2022:

Kate Laverty

Les Allamby

Peter Osborne


With effect from 1 April 2023:

Frank McManus

Mukesh Sharma

Brendan Mullan

Frank McManus is a current independent Board member. His current term of appointment is for a period of three years from 1 April 2020 to 31 March 2023.

More Northern Ireland News

Access More

Sign up for Northern Ireland News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!